logo aif



The Financial Information Authority (Autorità di Informazione Finanaziaria - AIF), is the competent authority of the Holy See/Vatican City State for fighting money-laundering and financing of terrorism. In that capacity, the AIF carries out the tasks of financial intelligence unit and supervisor, both for prudential purposes, and the prevention and countering of money-laundering and financing of terrorism.

Established by Pope Benedict XVI with the Apostolic Letter in form of "Motu Proprio" of 30 December 2010, AIF's institutional mandate has been consolidated by means of the Apostolic Letter in form of "Motu Proprio" by Pope Francis on 8 August 2013, which assigns to the AIF the role of prudential supervision, and by means of the Apostolic Letter in form of "Motu Proprio" by Pope Francis on 15 November 2013, which approved the new Statutes. The AIF carries out its institutional activity according to the Vatican Law n. XVIII of 8 October 2013.

The AIF is a member of the Egmont Group, the global network of financial intelligence units, and, so far, has stipulated Memoranda of Understanding with the financial intelligence units of various Countries for the purposes of collaboration and exchange of information, like, inter alia, Albania, Australia, Austia, Argentine, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Cyprus, Cuba, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Romania, San Marino, South Africa, Spain, Slovenia, Switzerland, United Kingdom and United States of America.

Remarks by the President of AIF Mr. Carmelo Barbagallo

The Financial Information Authority is a young institution. Established at the end of 2010 by Pope Benedict XVI, it started operating in 2011, thus less than ten years ago. Since then, it has grown year by year in every branch of activity – regulation, supervision, financial intelligence – thereby gaining a solid reputation as an active player in the fight against money laundering and the financing of terrorism.

The Annual Report being presented today describes in detail the results attained in the past year. In my brief remarks, I will focus not only on 2019, but also on the more recent developments of this year.